Thread: Rottweiler , Rhodesian ridgeback

Default Rottweiler , Rhodesian ridgeback

hello
    I am going to be getting a new puppy soon and have decided on these two breeds (so far)
    I'm a university student with plenty of time on my hands. Basically i want a strong, bold but calm breed , that can be social with other dogs. I like to go camping with my family and friends so sociability is a must however i'm aware that comes down to basically how he/she has been raised. I run atleast 5km everyday so giving the dog adequate exercise is no real issue. I am somewhat experienced with large powerful dog breeds having owned Labradors and Malamutes in the past.

What I like about the ridgeback:
    -its looks
    -given the breeds history i am assuming it is probably more dog sociable then the rottweiler (generally)
    -Short coat (i have a lot of time on my hands but still can't get my head around giving the dog 1 hour of grooming each day)
    -athleticism
    - health
    what I am concerned about:
    -being a sighthound i am worried about taking the dog camping where it may lock on to something and never comeback . (might be a stupid point)
    - hyper-activeness? I've heard mixed opinions about what they are like at home after given proper excersise
    - trainability ; after owning malamutes I'm not too concerned about this one (lol) but thought id throw it up there nevertheless.

What i like about the Rottweiler:
    -It's appearnce ( best looking breed imo)
    - calm , laid back and loyal approach
    -ease of training
    What i'm concerned about:
    -Sociability with other dogs
    -grooming , longer coat . How much brushes per week?
    - 5km runs?
    -How will it handle 35degree days with water and shade only , no aircon(camping on the murray. i do have aircon at home :'))?

there's obviously more i like about each breed but they are the main points .