Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51

Thread: Help - "connection to this server has been blocked "

  1. #11

    Default

    I got the "account suspended" page the other night ... was maybe 3am .. I've had the same msg before and it's always in the middle of the night but I'm guessing your issue is different given you're still having problems. have you got a static or dynamic IP?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    12,581

    Default

    I don't know.

    The account suspended due to excessive login attempts... will go away after about 24 hours of not trying to log in.

    I don't know how many attempts you get but it might be as few as five fails and you're out for a day.

    Not sure what would cause the other problems. It might be the spaminator - given that if you use a different ip address to connect you can get in.

    the crucialx.net thingy is where this site is hosted. So that's where the server is that is blocking you.

    you could check if your regular IP address is on a spam list by doing a google search for it.
    you can find out what it is by going here.
    Trace An IP - Our IP Address Locator & Tracer Can Track Any Location

    and check if it's spam listed (tho you might need to go via the alternative proxy server) here
    Stop Forum Spam

    tho there are other spam block sites eg botscout and honeypot. I think the spaminator mainly uses stop forum spam.

    Sometimes Telstra accounts get locked up by Telstra for spamming. they don't just lock up the spammer's ip, they lock up a range of IP addresses. Happened to a friend of mine's email - she couldn't get her business email or send any - so we had to use a different (non Telstra) mail server to get her working again. Telstra call centre denied all knowledge but someone on whirlpool.net.au described the problem exactly.

    I haven't checked Dogman's ip addresses to know if he uses a service provided by Telstra. It doesn't really explain why he'd be locked out of this website but not others. But the spaminator stuff might.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    12,581

    Default

    Ok some of the ip addresses that dogman has been using are definitely blocked by the spaminator.

    eg 58.20.127.26

    but I suspect that's one that's letting you in (ie the dodgy proxy server).

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    12,581

    Default

    A search of "optus blocking websites" got quite a list on whirlpool so it seems you are not alone.

    https://www.google.com.au/#q=optus+b...es&safe=active

    this hit might help.
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2238161

    and the ip for this website is
    111.118.160.187

    unfortunately you can't just key that into the web browser because about 10 websites live on that server.

    But you might be able to get in more reliably by using a different DNS server to the Optus one.
    eg here are the internode ones
    Internode :: Support :: Guides :: General Settings
    Primary DNS Server 192.231.203.132 (or Auto Assigned)
    Secondary DNS Server 192.231.203.3 (or Auto Assigned)
    Primary IPv6 DNS Server 2001:44b8:1::1 (or Auto Assigned)
    Secondary IPv6 DNS Server 2001:44b8:2::2 (or Auto Assigned

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    809

    Default

    I'm back... I'm back

    What a nasty experience that was... IP blocked for 6 days and what did I do to deserve this...nothing.

    I'm sure I'm not the only person to have copped this...I've sometimes wondered why not many people are logged in to this site at any one time...now I know why and it's upto the Owner and Mods to fix this ridiculous situation once and for all....wonder what's going to happen next.
    Chloe & Zorro
    Rottweilers and German Shepherds are Family

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    809

    Default

    I spoke too soon...what a bloody joke this is. I just posted the above post and hit post quick reply...everything good...then went to another thread and copied and pasted my reply that I couldn't post before...hit the post quick reply button...got a blank page so I clicked the back button and guess what...my bloody IP is blocked again. So Owner and Mods when you get around to fixing this send me an email as I've had enough.
    Chloe & Zorro
    Rottweilers and German Shepherds are Family

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    372

    Default

    well its gotten harder these days to get a new ip address, and if isp is blocking ip address's is harder.

    these days with adsl and cable only way to get a new ip sometimes is to change mac address on adsl router / cable modem, and that can be tricky for most modems not giving option.
    and if isp blocking have to call isp.

    and of course anti flood and spam fliters can be pain if get in a keen posting mood and start posting to quickly

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    12,581

    Default

    dogman

    It would help me a bit if you go to iptracer when you get blocked
    Trace An IP - Our IP Address Locator & Tracer Can Track Any Location
    and then post here the IP address it reports (that was blocked here).

    Or feed it to stop forum spam and see if they report lots of hits for spammers. Some of the IP addresses you're using are definitely on the forum spammer list. But I can't tell as a "super mod" which ones are blocked.

    And only Morgan can fix it and I'd be willing to bet he doesn't look at his email till next Monday.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    809

    Default

    It's now been 13 days and my real IP is still being blocked.

    As this is the only web site on the Internet that does this to me...it's defiantly this site and no one wants to fix it. I must be the only member who has to use a fake IP to even view this site had I been banned for doing something wrong...at least I'd know why.

    Hyacinth,

    I ran my real IP on...Stop Forum Spam and got....Found "0" Entries. I can't fix something that's not my fault...I did send a PM to Morgan last week but never got a reply. When I click on the Trace an Ip link above I get an error...as I'm not using my real Ip. So how much longer till this really annoying problem is fixed ?
    Chloe & Zorro
    Rottweilers and German Shepherds are Family

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    12,581

    Default

    Hi Dogman

    I have sent a PM to Morgan. He's always slow at getting back to us.

    I don't have enough access to do anything about it or find out why its happening.

    It's definitely not the spaminator. Cos like you said - zero hits on Stop Forum Spam and other spam blocking sites.

    I can understand your frustration but I can't fix it either.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •